How to know if you have been blocked on Facebook

0 Comments

If you are on Facebook, then you may be aware of this feature called Blocking. In simple terms, when you block someone they will no longer be able to do things such as tag you or see things you post on your timeline. They will also not be able to invite you to events or groups or start a conversation. Basically, it freezes all forms of communication on the social networking platform.

ALSO READ: How To Check Who Viewed Your Facebook Profile

And considering this ‘empowering’ option is available to all the users, there may be a chance that you have been on the receiving end of this. If you are in a situation where you feel that you have been blocked by someone but are not sure, try the following steps:

Search for their profile
If you try to find that person in Facebook search results by typing in their name and you don’t see their profile but perhaps others of that name, chances are you may been blocked by that person. The loophole in this step is that that the person you maybe looking for has set their privacy settings by which it prevents all Facebook users (except friends) from searching for them. But still, it is one of the many essential steps.

Look for a mutual friend’s friend list

If you have a mutual Facebook friend with the person you suspect has blocked you, go to their friend list and navigate to see the full list of their Facebook friends. On that page, there will be a search field. Type the person’s name there and if you do not see their name after that search then it have not been blocked. If it doesn’t appear, you may have been blocked. But this step will work only in case your mutual friend has publicly listed their friend list.

Go to an old conversation with that contact

If you have been engaging in a conversation with that contact in the past, try going back to that conversation. If you see that the user’s profile photo has been replaced with the default Facebook profile photo and if you cannot click on their name then they may have blocked you.

Search for that person’s account through someone else’s account

While all above steps could fail just because that person has simply deactivated their profile, this quick search will clear all your doubts. Try searching for the person you think who has blocked you from another Facebook account. If their profile appears in their search results, but didn’t in yours, then you have been blocked for sure.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: